INEC releases final list of candidates for Osun election

INEC releases final list of candidates for Osun election

by Arikawe Femi
0 comment 3 minutes read

INEC releases final list of candidates for Osun election

People’s Voice Nig. Online News 


The Independent National Electoral Commission has released the final list of candidates and their political parties for the forthcoming Osun governorship election.


The list was released today via a statement by Festus Okoye, the Chairman of Information and Voter’s education committee of the commission.


The statement read, “On Friday 25th March 2022, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) published the personal particulars and list of candidates (Form EC9) for the Osun State Governorship election in our State and Local Government offices as required by law. In compliance with the Electoral Act 2022, the Commission hereby publishes the final list of candidates for the election following the close of nominations by political parties.


The Commission wishes to remind political parties that under Section 32(2) of the Electoral Act 2022, any party that observes that the name of its candidate is missing from the list “shall notify the Commission in writing, signed by its National Chairman and Secretary, supported with an affidavit not later than 90 days to the election”.Furthermore, the attention of parties is drawn to Section 32(3) of the Electoral Act 2022, which provides that failure to notify the Commission “shall not be ground to invalidate the election”.

The final list is published in our State and Local Government offices in Osun State as well as our website and social media platforms for public information as required by law.The commission urged political parties to note the provision of the law for compliance.


Former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Lasun Yusuff is now the candidate of the Labour Party while former aspirant of the People’s Democratic Party, Akinade Ogunbiyi is the candidate of the Accord.


Adegboyega Oyetola remains the candidate of the All Progressives Congress while Senator Ademola Jackson Nurudeen Adeleke is the candidate of the PDP.


In the list released by the electoral umpire, 15 political parties are to participate in the polls. All governorship candidates are male with no female candidate fielded. While six parties fielded female deputy governorship candidates.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites.

Buy Soledad now!

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.