Africa’s Stars Shine Bright At 10th AMVCA 2024: See List Of Winners

Africa’s Stars Shine Bright At 10th AMVCA 2024: See List Of Winners

by Arikawe Femi
0 comment 23 minutes read



Africa’s Stars Shine Bright At 10th AMVCA 2024: See List Of Winners


By People’s Voice Nigeria | News


The 10th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) took over television screens around the country and beyond.


The AMVCA, an annual award organised by MultiChoice, recognises outstanding achievements in the television and film industry.


The People’s Voice Nigeria can reports that the event was held on Saturday at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Lagos State, Nigeria.


This year, notable contenders include “Over the Bridge,” which boasts 12 nominations across categories like Best Movie, Best Director, and Best Lead Actress, as well as the black-and-white fantasy thriller “Mami Wata,” which secured 11 nominations.


Also vying for top honours are “Breath of Life” and “Jagun Jagun – The Warrior,” each earning 10 nominations.


Below are the winners of the AMVCA 2024:

1. Best Makeup

  • Francesca Otaigbe (“Over the Bridge”)
  • Campbell Precious (“Mami Wata”) – Winner
  • Hadizat Gambo (“Mojisola”)
    Hakeem Onilogbo (“Jagun Jagun – The Warrior”)
  • Feyisayo Oyebisi (“A Tribe Called Judah”)

2. Best Art Direction

  • Blood Vessel (Victor Akpan)
  • Over The Bridge (Abisola Omolade) – Winner
  • Breath of Life” (Okechukwu Frost Nwankwo, Kelechi Odu)
  • The Black Book” (Pat Nebo and Chima Temple)
  • Jagun Jagun: The Warrior” (Tunji Afolayan)
  • Mami Wata” (C.J Fiery Obasi)Omen” (Eve Martin)


3. Best Costume Design

  • Demola Adeyemi (“Over The Bridge”)
  • Bolanle Austin Peters, Ituen Basi, Folake Coker, and Clement Effanga (“Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti”)
  • Lola Awe (“Jagun Jagun: The Warrior”) – Winner
  • Bunmi Demilola Fashina (“Mami Wata”)
  • Daniel Obasi (“Breath of Life”)


4. Best Writing TV Series

  • Skinny Girl in Transit (Season 7)
  • Wura” (Season 2)
  • Visa on Arrival
  • MTV Shuga Naija
  • Volume – Winner
  • Masquerades of Aniedo
  • Slum King”

5. Best Writing in a Movie

  • Breath of Life (BB Sasore)
  • Over The Bridge (Tosin Otudeko)
  • Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Tunde Babalola) – Winner
  • Jagun Jagun: The Warrior” (Adebayo Tijani)
  • Afamefuna (Anyanwu Sandra Adaora)
  • A Tribe Called Judah (Olufunke Ayotunde Akindele, Collins Okoh, and Akinlabi Ishola)
  • Mami Wata” (CJ Fiery Obasi)

6. Best Sound Design

  • Ava Momoh (“Over the Bridge”)
  • Daniel Pellerin and Amin Bhatia (“Kipkemboi”)
  • Grey Jones Ossai (“Blood Vessel”) – Winner
  • Grey Jones Ossai (“Breath of Life”)
  • Samy Bardet (“Mami Wata”)


7. Best Editing

  • Chuka Ejorh And Onyekachi Banjo (“Over The Bridge”)
  • Holmes Awa (“Breath of Life”)
  • Alex Kamau And Victor Obok (“Volume”)
  • Dayo Nathaniel (“Ogeere – Earth”)
  • Antonio Ribeiro (“The Black Book”) – Winner
  • Nathan Delannoy (“Mami Wata”)


8. Best Indigenous Language Film (West Africa)

  • Mami Wata (CJ Fiery Obasi)
  • Jagun Jagun (Femi Adebayo) – Winner
  • Ijogbon (Kunle Afolayan)
  • Orisa (Odunlade Adekola)
  • Nana Akoto (Kwabena Gyansah)


9. Best Indigenous Language Film (East Africa)

  • Where The River Divides
  • Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One) – Winner
  • WandongwaNakupenda

10. Best Indigenous Language Film (South Africa)

  • Service To Heart
  • Uncle Limbani
  • Motshameko O Kotsi – Winner


11. Best Documentary

  • Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)
  • Lobola, A Bride’s True Price? – Winner
  • Empalikino (Forgiveness)The Water Manifesto: Osun (Water for Gold)
    Sowing Hope

12. Best Cinematography

  • Mami Wata (Lílis Soares)
  • Blood Vessel (Gideon Chukwu)
  • Over The Bridge (KC Obiajulu) – Winner
  • Breath of Life (Ola Cardoso)Jagun Jagun – The Warrior (Adeoluwa Owu)
    Ijogbon – Chaos (Adekunle Nodash Adejuyigbe)
    Omen (Joachim Philippe)

13. Best Indigenous M-Net Original

  • The Passenger
  • Nana Akoto
  • Apo
  • Irora Iya – Winner
  • Love Transfusion (Kiapo Cha Damu)


14. Best Digital Content

  • National Treasure – Adebola
  • Adeyela (Lizzy Jay)
  • Medical Negligence and Copyright Infringement – Isaac Ayomide
  • Olayiwola (Layi yWasabi) – Winner
  • Hello Neighbour – Elozonam
  • Ogbolu, Lina Idoko, and Jemima Osunde
  • The Boyfriend – Maryam
  • Apaokagi-Greene


15.  Best Short Film

  • T’egbon T’aburo
  • Broken Mask – Winner
  • Eighteenth Year
  • Man and Masquerades
  • A Place Called Forward


16. Best Unscripted M-Net Original

  • What Will People Say
  • The Irabors’ Forever After
  • Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives) – Winner
  • Date My Family Zambia
    Royal Qlique (Season 2)


17. Best Scripted M-Net Original

  • Slum King – Winner
  • Half Open Window
  • IturaThe Passenger
  • Magic Room

18. Best Supporting Actress

  • Joke Silva (Over the Bridge)
  • Fathia Williams (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)
  • Bimbo Akintola (The Black Book)
  • Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life) – Winner
  • Eliane Umuhire (Omen)
  • Tana Adelana (Ijogbon – Chaos)
  • Ejiro Onojaife (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)

19. Best Supporting Actor

  • Alexx Ekubo (Afamefuna)
  • Demola Adedoyin (Breath of Life) – Winner
  • Itele d Icon (Jagun Jagun: The Warrior)
  • Gregory Ojefua (This is Life)
  • Timini Egbuson (A Tribe Called Judah)
  • Levi Chikere (Blood Vessel)
  • Ropo Ewenla (Over the Bridge)


20. Trailblazer Award

  • Chimezie Imo – Winner
  • Industry Merit Award
  • Idowu Philips (Iya Rainbow) – Winner
  • Richard Mofe-Damijo – Winner


21. Best Lead Actress

  • Segilola Ogidan (Over the Bridge)
  • Lucie Debay (Omen)
  • Omowunmi Dada (Asiri Ade)
  • Ireti Doyle (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi
  • Adaobi Dibor (Blood Vessel)
  • Evelyne Ily (Mami Wata)
  • Kehinde Bankole (Adire) – Winner
  • Funke Akindele (A Tribe Called Judah)


22. Best Lead Actor

  • Wale Ojo (Breath of Life) – WINNER
  • Stan Nze (Afamefuna)
  • Marc Zinga (Omen)
  • Gideon Okeke (Egun)
  • David Ezekiel (Blood Vessel)
  • Richard Mofe Damijo (The Black Book)
  • Adedimeji Lateef (Jagun Jagun — The Warrior)
  • Gabriel Afolayan (This is Lagos)


23. Best Multichoice Talent Factory Movie

  • Grown
  • Her Dark Past – WINNER
  • Somewhere in Kole
  • Full Time Husban
  • The 11th Commandment
  • Mfumukazi


24. Best Unscripted Series

  • Lol Naija (Season 1)
  • Nightlife In Lasgidi
  • The Real Housewives Of Lagos (Season 2)
  • Gh Queens (Season 2) – WINNER
  • Mutale Mwanza Unscripted (Season 1)


25. Best Scripted Series

  • Volume
  • Wura (Season 2)
  • Slum King
  • Itura – WINNER
  • Chronicles


26. Best Director

  • Moses Inwang (Blood Vessel)
  • Adebayo Tijani And Tope Adebayo (Jagun Jagun — The Warrior)
  • BB Sasore (Breath of Life) – WINNER
  • Johnscott Enah (Half Heaven)
  • C.J. Fiery Obasi (Mami Wata)
  • Kayode Kasum (Afamefuna)
  • Tolu Ajayi (Over The Bridge)


27. Best Movie

  • Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti
  • Breath of Life – WINNER
  • Over The Bridge
  • Blood Vessel
  • A Tribe Called Judah
  • The Black Book
  • Mami Wata

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites.

Buy Soledad now!

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.