Kano police arrest eight over attempt to disrupt Commissioners inauguration

Kano police arrest eight over attempt to disrupt Commissioners inauguration

by Ololade Adebeshin
0 comment 3 minutes read

Kano police arrest eight over attempt to disrupt Commissioners inauguration


The Kano State Police Command has arrested eight suspected thugs for attempting to disrupt the inauguration of the four newly appointed commissioners at the Government House on Thursday.


The state Police Commissioner, Usaini Gumel who confirmed the arrest on Friday, said the suspects posed a security threat at the Government House while the inauguration ceremony was ongoing at the Council Chambers.


Gumel warned that those who cause security breaches or disrupt the peace where critical government activities and functions are being conducted will be arrested and prosecuted.


“Enough of clusters of “Yan Jagaliya” (thugs) loitering around Government House, Audu Bako Secretariat, similar offices and disrupting government activities.


“The leader of the eight thugs being unrepentant and without remorse led his team to the venue again until he and his members met their waterloo of being apprehended by the crime prevention patrol team after sustained vigilance.


“The suspected thugs constituted themselves as a pressure group and supporters of one of the infamous politicians attempted to cause the breakdown of law and order at the venue,” Gumel said.


He said the suspects, currently at the Criminal Investigation Department, would be charged in court after investigations.


The commissioner assured members of the public that all necessary measures have been taken to prevent any act that could disrupt the peace and security in all parts of the State.


While appreciating the good people of the state for their support and cooperation, the commissioner reiterated the determination of the command to deal ruthlessly with any miscreant or their sponsors under whatever guise that tries to disrupt the peace.


Recall that state governor, Abba Kabir Yusuf on Thursday, swore in four new commissioners recently cleared by the State House of Assembly as members of the State Executive Council.


Those sworn in were Mustapha Rabiu Kwankwaso, Youth and Sport, Abduljabbar Garko, Land and Survey, Shehu Yanmedi, Special Duties and Adamu Kibiya, Commerce and Industry.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites.

Buy Soledad now!

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.