Ondo 2024: Ododo, Omo-Agege Oversees APC Primary

Ondo 2024: Ododo, Omo-Agege Oversees APC Primary

by Ololade Adebeshin
0 comment

Ondo 2024: Ododo, Omo-Agege Oversees APC Primary


Ahead of the Ondo State Primary Election, the national leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed Kogi State Governor, Usman Ododo, and former Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege, to oversee the poll.


Ododo will head the seven-man Primary Election Committee set up to conduct the shadow poll while Omo-Agege will serve as the Secretary.


Other members are a former Oyo Deputy Governor, Iyiola Oladokun; Senator Lekan Mustapha, Adefunmilayo Tejuoso; Margaret Duru and Dr. Sani Danjuma.


The committee has been saddled with the responsibility to conduct a direct primary in all 18 local government areas of the State to pick the party’s flag bearer ahead of the November 2024 governorship election.


Saturday Telegraph had earlier reported that sixteen aspirants will be jostling to clinch the sole ticket on Saturday including the incumbent governor of the state.


The aspirants include AggeGovernor Lucky Aiyedatiwa, business mogul and senator representing Ondo South district, Jimoh Ibrahim; Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Olusola Oke; former President of Nigerian Medical Association, Prof. Francis Faduyile; mechanical engineer, Dr Funmi Waheed-Adekojo and APC National Vice Chairman (South West), Isaac Kekemeke.


Others are Dr Soji Ehinlanwo, Akinfolarin Samuel, Okunjimi Odimayo, Adewale Akinterinwa, Olugbenga Edema and Gen. Ohunyeye Olamide, Morayo Lebi, Garvey Oladiran Iyanjan and Ifeoluwa Oyedele.


In a related development, the APC has also unveiled a list of another five-man committee to take charge of post-election appeals and complaints.


The Primary Election Appeal Committee is headed by former Bauchi Governor, Mohammed Abubakar, while Chief Obiocha Israel serves as Secretary.


Other members include Edo lawmaker, Patrick Obahiagbo; Jamilu Isiyiaka Gwamna, and Chief Onyeka Okafor.


A terse statement issued by the ruling party on Thursday stated that all members of the committee will be inaugurated on the same day by 4.00 pm.


“The inauguration of the Ondo State Gubernatorial Primary Election Committee and Appeal Committee is scheduled for Thursday, April 18, 2024, at 4 pm Venue: NWC Hall, All Progressives Congress Headquarters, Abuja.


“They will be inaugurated by the party’s National Organising Secretary, Sulaiman Argungu,” it read.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites.

Buy Soledad now!

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.